Unit 1: Communication and Employability Skills for IT
The aim of this unit is to ensure that learners understand both the personal attributes valued by employers and the principles of communicating effectively whist developing effective communication skills and addressing their own personal development needs.

Unit 2: Computer Systems

The aim of this unit is to enable learners to understand the components of computer systems and develop the skills needed to recommend appropriate systems for business purposes and set up and maintain computer systems.

Unit 30: Digital Graphics

This unit aims to enable learners to understand different types of digital graphics images and file formats and to be able to create, edit, modify and manipulate digital images of various types and complexity.

Unit 13: IT Systems Troubleshooting and Repair

The aim of this unit is to enable learners to develop the skills to troubleshoot, find appropriate remedies and repair a range of hardware and software faults in computer systems.

Unit 28: Website Production

The aim of this unit is to enable a learner to understand web architecture and the factors that affect its performance and to be able to design and create interactive websites.

Unit 6: Software design and development

The aim of this unit is to enable learners to understand the principles of software design and be able to use tools to develop software designs.


BTEC Level 3 is assessed through a number of assignments that are completed for each unit studied. Each assignment is designed to illustrate the skills and understanding required for that unit. There is no formal examination for BTEC Level 3.

Examination Board – BTEC


This course is practical and is assessed through the application of skills and knowledge taught during the course. It is 100% coursework and has no formal examinations. Each unit is assessed through a series of assignments.
This course would be most suitable for students who are progressing from ITQ or with Merits or Passes in OCR Nationals Level 2 who wish to continue developing their knowledge and understanding of ICT and its application.


The Edexcel BTEC Level 3 Certificate is broadly equivalent to an AS Level, whilst the BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma is comparable to an A Level.
The Level 3 Certificate requires the study of three units, two of which are compulsory. The Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma requires that a further three units are studied, giving a total of six units.


BTEC Level 3 qualifies for UCAS points. It gives students a wide range of progression options into further study, training or relevant employment. Students who successfully complete the qualification will be well equipped to move onto degrees in related subjects such as ICT, Computer Science, Information Systems, Multimedia, Software Engineering, Computer Networking, e-Business and Information Management. Those who opt for work-based training are likely to progress to IT User Practitioner NVQs.